Charlywalker's Blog











{June 21, 2011}   Always a Blogsmaid, Never the Blogger (finally finished for Phil)…

I was just curious.  What does it take to get Freshly Pressed? I have been known to take my clothes to the cleaners to get that extra crease in the pant leg and a little more starch around the collar.  I walk around in wrinkle free attire unless it’s summer and I’m wearing linen.

Who are these folks that judge what will get pressed and what will not get pressed.  I’ve never had any indecision from my dry cleaner about my substance, unless they need to use the potent chemicals to remove the Marinara spot from  last nights dinner at Gino’s Trattoria.

One person mentioned that winners are chosen for the freshly pressed page if they include some eye candy. “Something picturesque that will catch the readers eye”.  Maybe if JD Salinger added a few Kodak moments to his draft he might have changed the title to: Catcher in the Eye….

I like the appeal of words and how they can lift off the page and let you formulate your own picture in your mind.  If a writer or author or better yet, a Blogger, can captivate your imagination with their writing, I think that should hold quite a presence in the judges EYES……anyone can Shop around for a Photo.

Is this the wave of the future in our young readers,( and I mean younger…under my age…waaayyy under my age)?  Are they in need of eye props to help them imagine what words are portraying?  Are folks becoming incapable of using their imaginations anymore to paint a photograph in their mind from descriptive expressions?   What if Melville used a Polaroid instead of his lovely colloquy…….would we witness a snapshot of Captain Ahab standing aboard the Pequod hoisting the Whale by a giant fish hook grinning into the camera held by First mate Ishmael?  Would that make Moby Dick a Whale of a story in our minds today…….maybe after the publishers harpoon the New Edition for today’s readers…….

Whether it’s paper or plastic screens that we feast our reader eyeballs on, do we need a pictorial accompaniment to satisfy our thoughts brought about by the written page. Have our imaginations been blown out of our brain and Gone with the Wind replaced with operable archetypes?  Do I need to paint a picture now……  having a sketch of Scarlett O’Hara wearing a dress made from draperies would not have helped my mind capture the burning of Tara……..unless she managed to leave the Curtain rod in….

Sometimes I wonder with Great Notion if the original bible had pictures ;would more folks pick it up for a read? And , possibly, the Blogging umpires would then try and Iron out the Photo-shopped pictographs for their freshly pressed homer…….

spread the humor

So true! I tried this tactic of using a provocative title called ”Unzipped” and used an equally provocative picture, not of myself regrettably (jk!), but I didn’t fool WordPress. So I’ve given up on that dream to be FP’d, lol.



Eh, who wants that? You have to spend all day replying to 300 comments, pick up 3 subscribers, then suffer the inevitable letdown of going back to your normal readership level in 3 days.



Point well said. Back to the blogging board.



[…] I was just curious.  What does it take to get Freshly Pressed? I have been known to take my clothes to the cleaners to get that extra crease in the pant leg and a little more starch around the collar.  I walk around in wrinkle free attire unless it's summer and I'm wearing linen. Who are these folks that judge what will get pressed and what will not get pressed.  I've never had any indecision from my dry cleaner about my substance, unless they ne … Read More […]



Nice post. Now I know how to get freshly pressed. Gotta play the game by the rules 😉 haha, jk….for now lol. Anyway, I appreciate the insight and indignance. I vote you for being freshly pressed, and I hope it happens on a day y get to e comfy in linen. What a scorer that would be.



Charlie you have put your finger right on the pulse. I can’t figure it out either. Having said that I do like a pretty picture. Sometimes though you have to wonder if they don’t just like a bit of bling at WordPress. They cn’t feature everyone I suppose, but sometimes some of the freshly pressed are just holiday snaps, and not very good ones at that.



Thanks for the drive by carboys! Always a pleasure!



I hear you..I have read through FP and there are a number of them with no pics at all. I keep consoling myself that with hundreds of thousands to choose from they are going to miss some pearls..like us, With the odds of being chosen it is like winning the lottery!
I am sure they will find you soon!
Chris



Thanks Chris..they need to find us all!! LOL…we are buried in the back of the Photo-book…..LOL



Phil says:

This blog entry is useless with pictures! (Someone had to say it. Just kidding ya know!)

I find it a bit ironic that a website titled WordPress might actually desire to see enticing pictures as a means of selecting posts for its Freshly Pressed home page. What’s next – people buying Playboy and Penthouse for the articles? What’s the world coming to?



They have some nice cartoons…….LOL….BTW..I finished this post just for you…



Phil says:

Aw shucks now. I’m freshly im-pressed!



Take two Irony pills and blog me in the morning……



Phil says:

I was so impressed in fact with being mentioned in the title, that I decided to do the next best thing to being Freshly Pressed – I re-blogged this post. I sure hope the three or four hits you’ll get from my devoted readership doesn’t drag your blog to a grinding halt. 🙂



Oh..I can do that by myself…..(drag to a blinding halt)..LOL..thank you for the support, my screen light is always on for ya!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
